Deelnemers Joop Swart Masterclass bekend

World Press Photo heeft bekend gemaakt wie dit jaar zijn uitgekozen voor de Joop Swart Masterclass, waarin gevorderd jong talent uit de hele wereld de kans krijgt om van ervaren collega’s te horen hoe ze hun werk nog beter kunnen doen.
Het Engelse persbericht:

Twelve young photographers have been selected to come together with a group of masters for the 17th annual World Press Photo Joop Swart Masterclass to be held from 30 October to 4 November 2010 in Foam_Fotografiemuseum, Amsterdam. The 12 participants were selected among 162 candidates who had been nominated to submit their portfolios. During the six-day masterclass meeting, the participating photographers will interact with six prominent experts, discussing technical, journalistic and ethical aspects of their work.

The following 12 photographers were selected to participate in the 2010 masterclass:
Lurdes R. Basoli, Spain
Maisie Crow, USA
Giulio Di Sturco, Italy
Sarah Elliott, USA
Adam Ferguson, Australia
Andrea Gjestvang, Norway
Lissette Lemus, El Salvador
Justin Maxon, USA
Dominic Nahr, Switzerland
Saiful Huq Omi, Bangladesh
Ed Ou, Canada/Taiwan
Alvaro Ybarra Zavala, Spain

The participants were selected by an independent, international selection committee consisting of: Walter Astrada (Argentina) Reportage by Getty Images, Camilla Brown (UK) senior curator The Photographers’ Gallery, Pieter ten Hoopen (the Netherlands/Sweden) photographer Agence VU, Maria Mann (USA) senior managing editor European Pressphoto Agency and Eugene Richards (USA) Reportage by Getty Images.

In preparation for the meeting, the participants will execute a photo essay on one single theme, which for this year is: "Persistence". The essays will be discussed during sessions with the masters and edited into a publication.

The Joop Swart Masterclass has been organized by World Press Photo every year since 1994. Its goal is to bring together some of the most experienced individuals in photojournalism with 12 young, promising photographers so that they can share and pass on their knowledge and experience. From the beginning of the program, a total of 187 young photographers have participated in the program, many of them moving on to establish themselves as today’s leading photojournalists.

The Joop Swart Masterclass is supported by Delta Lloyd Group, Stichting Democratie en Media and Canon, who provides all participants with a grant. World Press Photo receives support from the Dutch Postcode Lottery and is sponsored worldwide by Canon and TNT.