Fotografen voor Joop Swart Masterclass geselecteerd

Een jury heeft voor World Press Photo uit 175 kandidaten uit 62 landen twaalf jonge fotografen gekozen die van 28 oktober tot 3 november de Joop Swart Masterclass gaan volgen, in het Kunstenhuis bij de Westergasfabriek in Amsterdam.
Tijdens de zesdaagse masterclass krijgen de fotografen les van zes prominente deskundigen, en bespreken ze tehcnische, journalistieke en ethische aspecten van hun werk.

Het Engelse persbericht meldt verder:

The following 12 photographers were selected to participate in the 2011 masterclass:
· Eunice Adorno, Mexico
· Antonio Bolfo, USA
· Kitra Cahana, Canada
· Alinka Echeverria, Mexico/UK
·Alessandro Imbriaco, Italy
· Jakub Kaminski, Poland
· Sebastian Liste Vicario, Spain
· Leo Maguire, UK
· Ivor Prickett, Ireland
· Mohammed Salem, Palestinian Territories
· Dimitri Stefanov, Bulgaria
· Anastasia Taylor-Lind, Sweden/UK

The participants were selected by an independent, international selection committee consisting of Monica Allende (Spain) picture editor Sunday Times Magazine, Lu Guang (China) freelance photographer, David Alan Harvey (USA) photographer Magnum, Meaghan Looram (USA) deputy picture editor The New York Times and Aidan Sullivan (UK) vice president photo assignments Getty Images.

In preparation for the meeting, the participants will execute a photo essay on one single theme, which for this year is respect. The essays will be discussed during sessions with the masters and edited into a publication.

The Joop Swart Masterclass has been organized by World Press Photo every year since 1994. Its goal is to bring together some of the most experienced individuals in photojournalism with 12 young, promising photographers so that they can share and pass on their knowledge and experience. From the beginning of the program, a total of 199 young photographers have participated in the program, many of them moving on to establish themselves as today’s leading photojournalists.

The Joop Swart Masterclass is supported by Delta Lloyd Group, CSM and Canon, who provides all participants with a grant. World Press Photo receives support from the Dutch Postcode Lottery and is sponsored worldwide by Canon and TNT.